Visitors (part 3)

The last of my visitors was TYLER! My parents left Wednesday and I had a short break until Tyler came Saturday. She got to my apartment around noon and was exhausted, later I showed her around Garbtella and we went to apertivo with Natalie and her friends that night before going out to Trastevere. Sunday we went to the end of the Year of Faith mass in Saint Peter’s Square, it was cold but the highlight was Pope Francis holding the box with Saint Peter’s remains in them. Then we walked around Trastevere, went to the Pantheon and Piazza Navona. It was a fun day walking around showing Tyler the lay of the land and just hanging with my sister!
Out in Trastevere!
Out in Trastevere!
End of the Year of Faith Mass
End of the Year of Faith Mass
Monday Ty went to Florence for the day (and again Wednesday after the audience) to see everything there…I think she saw more than I have there!
Papal Audience!
Papal Audience!
Out Wednesday Night!
Out Wednesday Night!
Tuesday Ty did a Vatican tour while I was at work and after we covered a ton of ground together. I took her to campo de fiori and showed her the market, then we walked to the Trevi Fountain which was quite eventful, we saw some young girls getting caught by the police for stealing! After our photo shoot we went walked down Via del Corso to the Spanish Steps.
Trevi!
Trevi!
Making a WIsh
Making a WIsh
Spanish Steps!
Spanish Steps!
Thursday was Thanksgiving! My apartment decided to host Thanksgiving which became a huge potluck for 27 people. Around noon Natalie Tyler and I went to the butcher to get turkey breast because we were told we wouldn’t find a whole turkey. WRONG, we go to the butcher and ask for turkey for 25 people and he goes into the back and grabs an entire bird. We explained to him (through a nice man who spoke Italian) that our oven wasn’t large enough to cook the wholes thing, well he fixed that problem by chopping it into four pieces. Well we had our turkey and walked back to the apartment and on the way the turkey leg kicked a hole in the bag…this was going to be interesting to say to the least. My roommate Care and I took charge with the turkey she cleaned out the inside while I plucked the remaining feathers off, this was a farm fresh turkey. We managed to cook it and set up the living room for our dinner. Everyone brought other Thanksgiving fixins and it was an authentic Thanksgiving in Rome! We invited some Italians as well, it was some of their first Thanksgiving dinners ever. It was a great night with friends and food, I can’t believe we managed to pull it off, dinner for 27!
Sister Selfie
Sister Selfie
Thanksgiving Buffet
Thanksgiving Buffet
Friendsgiving!
Friendsgiving!
Friday was out last day together 😦 we walked around Trastevere, Campo, and Piazza Navona to do some shopping first. Then we went to the Jewish Ghetto for Hanukah they lit the Menorah at 415 in the center I enjoyed seeing the tradition here. Then (ironically) we went to see some churches, the Francesi Luigi with Carvaggio paintings, Santa Maria sopra Minerva to see the Michelangelo statue, and finally the Augustine Church in Rome. I had never been to this one, my parents found it walking around when they were here. It had gorgeous blue ceilings and they had a chapel on the side for Saint Thomas of Villanova! Others included Saint Rita, Monica, and others that are names of buildings at Villanova, it was so cool to see. Friday night we had a nice sister dinner together in Testaccio, Ty had an early flight Saturday and I had my field study for class overnight. It was a quick trip but so much fun to show Ty around when I could. I was so happy she could come (miss you already Ty!) see you in 3 weeks!
Jewish Ghetto for Hanukah
Jewish Ghetto for Hanukah
Saint Augustine Church
Saint Augustine Church
St. Thomas of Villanova Chapel
St. Thomas of Villanova Chapel
Leave a Reply

